Launched in 1992, the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme promotes international inter-university cooperation and networking to enhance institutional capacities through knowledge sharing and collaborative work. The Programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – i.e. in education, the natural and social sciences, culture and communication.

Today, the Programme involves over 854 institutions in 134 countries. We present a short list of UNESCO Chairs in the field of culture and interculturalism, belonging to the European cultural space.

For the most recent list of established UNESCO Chairs, please click here: http://www.unesco.org/new/fileadmin/MULTIMEDIA/HQ/ED/pdf/listchairs17012014.pdf

See more at: http://en.unesco.org/unitwin-unesco-chairs-programme#sthash.EFBfxEMS.dpuf